HAKEN announce 'L-1VE' album & work on next studio album

HAKEN are extremely pleased to announce the release of their first ever live album, titled 'L-1VE' and scheduled for release on the 22nd June 2018. Pre-order packages are available here.

Following the release of the bands much-acclaimed fourth studio album 'Affinity', they embarked upon their 10th anniversary tour across Europe & North America. Recorded and filmed on the 13th April 2017, at the legendary Melkweg venue on the Amsterdam stop of that tour, this represents the band's first ever live document with tracks from across the band's discography.

The band comments
"The release of official live material is a project that is long overdue and we know our existing fans have been crying out for this for some time now. Whilst we have filmed and recorded many shows in the past we have always felt there were elements of our shows that could be improved 'visually' before we documented and immortalised this for the world to see and that the timing for a live release never felt right for us. This is just our nature as creative people to be so extremely self-critical and constantly strive for perfection. It is largely due to the will of the people that the idea of this project became a reality. Both the band and the label were inundated with emails requesting a live release in some shape or form, and it was actually rather flattering, so giving the people what they wanted just felt like the right thing to do"

'L-1VE' will be released as a 2CD/2DVD Digipak package & as digital download. The DVD will include 4 bonus tracks filmed at ProgPower USA 2016 that also includes Mike Portnoy's cameo appearance on gong, as well as all of the official videos from the 'Affinity' album. You can find the full track-listing below.

Track listing

  1. 1. affinity.exe/Initiate
  2. 2. In Memoriam
  3. 3. 1985
  4. 4. Red Giant
  5. 5. Aquamedley
  6. 6. As Death Embraces
  7. 7. Atlas Stone
  8. 8. Cockroach King
  9. 9. The Architect
  10. 10. The Endless Knot
  11. 11. Visions

DVD Bonus Material

  1. 1. Falling Back to Earth
  2. 2. Earthrise
  3. 3. Pareidolia
  4. 4. Crystallised

Also includes music videos for Initiate, Earthrise & Lapse.

Artwork was once again produced by long-time collaborators Blacklake, who continued the love of 80's culture that they demonstrated on artwork for 'Affinity'. The live audio was mixed by Neal Morse & Winery Dogs alumni Jerry Guidroz.

The band have also revealed they have started work on their fifth studio album.

They comment
"We're currently getting our teeth stuck into the writing process for Album 5 and great ideas are forming and evolving as we speak. It's still early days but there is a sense among us that Haken may take a darker path with this one. However, the playing field is still wide open and the direction this record takes could alter at any point. One thing is certain: We will endeavour to stick to our mandate of strong melodies and Killer riffs!"

Look out for more news in the coming weeks.

more news

13 April 2018
HAKEN are extremely pleased to announce the release of their first ever live album, titled 'L-1VE' and scheduled for release on the 22nd June 2018
31 July 2017
Haken are set to hit the road in North America later this month and release a brand new animated video for their track 'Lapse'.
09 May 2017
HAKEN are thrilled to announce their first shows on the Australian continent, in September and October of 2017.
03 March 2017
The band have launched a special playthrough video with guitarist Charlie Griffiths. Tenth anniversary tour about to take off.
21 November 2016
The band will go out on a headline tour of Europe in March & April. InsideOutMusic will also be reissuing the band's first two albums, 'Aquarius' & 'Visions', on the 3rd February 2017 in new remastered 2CD editions, as well as vinyl.